top of page
Search
driftwooddesign0

T.V stand flip

Wow!!! I feel like that is a great place to start! What a transformation!!!


I had a client that came to me asking for a TV stand. She did not have any stipulations on what kind color or design. Then only restraint was a smaller piece. With this is mind I set out for the Restore. When I arrived I was told today was 25% off day on anything in the store. Of course I had to take advantage of that deal!! I stumbled across this piece and seen the great bones it had and thought to myself this would be perfect for a small space! At only 40$ I took it with out a bat of the eye.

When home I got right to work. I cleaned the piece inside and out. This was a good time to take off all hardware and give it a good look over and see if any blemishes needed fixed. A few minor things appeared and were fixed accordingly.

I started with filling in the doors to make them smooth and flat across the entire from. I filled the area with bondo and sanded smooth. I then cut what felt like a THOUSAND popsicle still to make the herringbone patter you see on the door fronts and the top. The wood was found to have a slick feel to it from the prior top coat that was applied. I got the my orbital sander and went to work with a light scuff sand. By doing this it gave the surface a more course feel to allow a better adhesion for the glue in which would hold the sticks. I arranged the sticks ensuring a good fit and glued them all in place. Once dry I filled all the gaps with wood filler and sanded them all smooth.


I painted the bottom and sides of the piece in Dixie Belle in Collard Greens and stained the sticks in a Golden Pecan stain.


While all was drying I went to the saw and began to make a frame for the front of the drawers to get it a more dramatic look. I used my pneumatic stapler and stapled them to the door fronts.


From this step I entered the final touches!! Wow has it been a long and crazy ride!! I Poly everything to make sure it holds up with no damage to the piece and place new hardware. Now this is definitely a piece I would put into my own home!!!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page